How To Live With Less

Something about this year has me reprioritizing a few things. Maybe because it’s the year of the Lion I want to take charge and lead or maybe I just am tired of my own BS but one of my biggest opportunities is the clutter in my life and my house. It’s time for a fresh start and to welcome in renewed energy. I’ve been taking stock of my life and decided less is more. Not only is it better for your planet but your spirit as well, so here’s how I’m doing it.

1. Conduct inventory

Go through everything you have from the hallway closet to your balcony and everywhere in-between. See what you use and don’t use or could live without. Things you haven’t used in a while or don’t need and decide what you want to do with them. Either donate, reuse, gift or toss. Not sure where to donate? Read this article here for places to take your items.

2. Create A Uniform

Something that is slept on is a minimalistic/uniform wardrobe. If you’re not sure what is that is it’s an outfit formula that you use to get dressed every day. With this formula you can ration out what you wear and if you need to purchase something new, and what exactly you need instead of aimlessly shopping around. By doing this you wear your entire wardrobe and can cut down excessive shopping.

3. Meal Prep To Prevent Food Waste

Something that I have learned while living on my own is creating a menu will save you a lot of money and cooking it in advance prevents you from wasting food. If you keep the mindset of “I have cooked food waiting for me at home” then you will more than likely eat at home more and most importantly you won’t waste time, money, and resources on food that you may or may not eat.

4. Practice Gratitude

With social media giving us a false sense of self we often forget to be thankful for what we have. We think we need to be better or do more because we don’t have the same thing as someone else. It’s ok to be happy where you’re at and it’s ok to want to a little more but don’t beat yourself up about it, just like what I said in my Adulting yes you’re doing it right article, there’s no right way to do it and don’t beat yourself up by made up milestones. Be grateful you have food, a roof over your head, and an internet connection.

I hope this helps you on your journey don’t forget to share and visit our Facebook and Instagram page!

Leave a comment